Deburring

The following definitions should absolutely not serve as the basis for a scientific paper. We also do not claim that all aspects of deburring, burrs and all other issues mentioned, are addressed in detail or covered comprehensively. We want to provide our customers and interested persons with an overview that allows them to understand for what purpose we build systems.

What is deburring?

In order to answer this question, we first have to clarify what the term „burr“ generally refers to.

Read more Close

A burr is a material deformation that can be created through different production or machining processes. It is firmly attached to the actual component without, according to the component drawing, actually supposed to be a part of it.

During casting, for example, the excess material which is pressed out between the two halves of the mould is referred to as separating burr.

When removing a surface at the discharge edge of a mould, a machining centre creates a so-called discharge burr.

Burrs can also be created through drilling, punching or turning.

The range of burrs reaches from microscopically small to those with a thickness of multiple millimetres. Their shape depends on different factors. During a casting process, for example, the shape of the burr is affected by the age and material of the mould but also by the properties of the casting material.

In case of mechanical processing, a burr can be more or less pronounced depending on the parameters of the process, the service life of the tool or the material properties of the workpiece.

Burrs generally have a sharp edge after follow-up processes, such as subsequent production steps, or the assembling process. They are unwanted and have to be removed.

The „deburring“ process describes the removal of a burr using different processes, which can roughly be divided into mechanical, chemical and thermal deburring. Neither the input nor the output variables are specified in greater detail.

The users of deburring applications have to define their own objectives. In most cases, deburring specifications are created for this purpose. They clearly define which target values (and corresponding tolerance ranges) are permissible for the interiors and exteriors of workpieces. In addition, the corresponding dimensions are recorded on drawings.

In order to determine the correct deburring process that can achieve the desired result, the type of burr first has to be defined.

Burr does not equal burr

If a component has a burr that is supposed to be removed, the first step is to determine the type of burr. This is done by taking into account the properties of the material as well as how the burr is created.

Read more Close

The basic conditions for the creation of a burr are as follows:

  • The used of a plastically mouldable material
  • A force that is applied to the material. Generally, this is a cutting force or feed force as part of a burr-forming production process

The burr-forming production processes are:

  • Casting (casting, pressing, sintering)
  • Forming (shaping, forming, pressing)
  • Separating (turning, milling, cutting, sawing, clearing, …)
  • Joining (welding, casting, …)

When looking at the different processes, one can tell that they form different types of burrs. This formation is the result of different forces which, depending on the production process, are applied to the component.

Let’s examine more closely the formation of a burr that is the result of drilling. Drilling creates 2 different types of burrs – one in the area where the drill enters the material and the other where it exits.

The burr created where the drill enters the material depends on the type of drilling operation. At the beginning of the process that generates the borehole, the drill is pressed into the workpiece and therefore displaces the material at the surface of the workpiece.

Spiral drills, whose cutting speed in the centre of the tool is often almost 0, are very often used for such drilling processes. As a result, in the area of the borehole centre, the drill pushes the material in front of it rather than cutting it out of the full material. Prior to exiting the borehole, the excess material first bulges against the borehole base in the interior of the component. Once the drill breaks through the base, the remaining material is bent over the edge and remains there as a burr at the edge of the borehole.

In addition to the force applied through the production process, the material also influences the formation of the burr. To better understand this, let’s first define the different terminology:

Grid / crystal:
When viewing a metallic material on an atomic level, one can see that the atoms are evenly distributed in the space. There are large binding forces between the atoms. These atomic structures are also referred to as crystals. Depending on the packing density and the number of atoms within a unit cell, we refer to them as different grid types. Overall, there are 7 different main grid types (see table 1), whereby the metals are crystallised cubically or hexagonally. In addition, some metals can form different grid types in different temperature ranges.

Grid typeForm of the unit cell (illustrative)
Triclinic„Brick“ that is skewed on all sides
Monoclinic„Brick“ that skews in one direction
OrthorhombicRegular „brick“
TetragonalCube stretched into one direction
RhombohedralCube that is skewed on all sides
HexagonalA piece of hexagonal material cut evenly
CubicCube

Unit cell:
The term „unit cell“ describes the smallest volume unit of a space lattice in which all symmetrical features of a crystal system are represented. By periodically shifting the edges, the creation of a space lattice can be simulated.

An ideal crystal is described with the definitions listed above. In addition to the fact that atoms do not have a spherical shape in reality and are not in a resting position, the real crystal also takes into account:

  • A finite limit (this refers to the surface of the metal)
  • The existence of disrupted areas (gaps, foreign atoms, displacements)

Displacements:
Displacements are line defects that occur in a grid with a high density. They affect the material properties to a high degree and are characterised by the following properties:

  • They have a sense of direction, which means they either attract or repel each other.
  • They are able to move, which means they cause a deformation of the material by moving within the grid in large numbers
  • They are the cause of internal stresses and solidifications

Plastic deformation:
A plastic deformation also refers to the „flow“ of the material. Thanks to an external force of a defined size, the limit stress within the material is exceeded. This leads to a migration of the displacements and therefore a deformation of the respective material. Corresponding to the geometry of the grid, this takes place in preferred levels and directions.

Consequently, the physical and technical properties of a material are determined by the basic grid of the crystal as well as by the type, quantity and arrangement of grid errors and building blocks that are foreign to the grid.

Custom solutions

Just as there are different types of burrs, different processes can also be used for their removal. The most common types are described briefly below. We do not claim that this list is complete, so please excuse the potential omission of any particular process.

Read more Close

Barrel finishing
Barrel finishing is one of the most common deburring processes. Like so many other things, humans copied this method from nature, where sand and water grind jagged rocks into smooth pebbles.

In modern production technology, the right combination of machine, grinding tools, compound and water allows the machining of nearly any surface. In this process, the workpieces are put into a container as a bulk good together with the grinding medium. By rotating and oscillating the container, a relative movement between workpiece and grinding medium is created, which leads to the removal of the material.

Depending on the requirements, workpieces can be deburred, polished, barrel finished, descaled, cleaned, smoothed or have their edges rounded.

+ Advantages

  • Components can be delivered as bulk goods
  • Less space required compared to other processes
  • No devices required
  • Large output quantity
  • Edges can be rounded

– Disadvantages

  • Complex component geometries or depressions cannot be machined completely.
  • Burrs can enter into the borehole
  • Not suitable for impact sensitive or highly polished components
  • No defined material removal possible
  • Not suitable for linking to a production line for piece goods
  • Not suitable for large components

Electrochemical deburring:
Using the process of electrochemical deburring (ECM), all conductive materials can be deburred contact free without thermal, chemical or mechanical influences. In this process, the workpiece is polarised as anode (positive) and the tool is the cathode. An electrically conductive liquid (electrolyte solution) closes the electrical circuit.

Explained in a simplified manner, ECM deburring works as follows:
The workpiece is clamped into a device and, via a generator, it is given a positive charge. The tool electrode/cathode is now moved to a distance of between 0.5 – 2mm of the area of the workpiece that is to be deburred. Between the workpiece and the tool, a so-called „working gap“ is created. The electrolyte solution is run through that gap. If a DC voltage is now applied to the workpiece and the electrode, an electrical current runs across the working gap and results in a charge exchange and/or a process of disintegration. In this process, the intensity of the deburring effect can therefore be controlled via the voltage applied or the amount of time it is applied.

+ Advantages

  • Targeted deburring of selected areas is possible
  • Mechanical properties do not impact the machinability
  • Contact-free process
  • With regard to the tool, this process is wear-free
  • The component is not subject to thermal stress
  • No secondary burr
  • Partially short deburring times

– Disadvantages

  • Component has to be metallic
  • Conventional materials and design principles cannot be used
  • Components must be chip-free and grease-free
  • Following ECM deburring, components have to be cleaned with clear water
  • Components must potentially be preserved
  • Depending on the shape of the component, additional contours cannot be implemented easily

Thermal deburring:
Thermal deburring (or, officially, thermal-chemical deburring) is part of the non-targeted machining processes. Only the removal of the burr is guaranteed. Nearly all oxidising materials can be deburred in this way.

During the thermal deburring process, the workpiece is in a deburring chamber. It is filled with an oxygen-combustible gas mix and ignited via a spark or an annealing line. Depending on the mixture and the gas volume, temperatures of up to 3,000°C are reached. The workpiece itself, however, only heats up insignificantly (approx. 100 – 190°C depending on its heat capacity).

Due to the abrupt temperature increase, all those areas of the workpiece are overheated whose surface to volume ratio is very large. Generally, these are burrs that, as a result of the heat build-up that is generated in this process, are first ignited and then burned off.

+ Advantages

  • Removes burrs in inaccessible locations
  • Burrs are removed completely
  • Universal process without workpiece bond
  • Very short cycle times

– Disadvantages

  • No defined rounding of edges
  • Only suitable for oxidising materials
  • Not suitable for hardened components
  • Workpieces with large volumes can only be deburred conditionally
  • Must be free from loose chips and greases
  • Dipping into a highly diluted acid mixture is possibly required as an aftertreatment

High-pressure water jet deburring:
During the high-pressure water jet deburring process, the burr is broken off at the thinnest available spot. An abrasive medium is often added to the water in order to improve the removal effect. This deburring process is particularly well suited for light-metal workpieces. A lance guides the jet to the area that is to be deburred. Via nozzles, it is applied to the workpiece in that spot. The water generally has a pressure of between 600 and 1,000 bar. Advantage: targeted removal of burrs, suitable for large series, deburring, chip removal and cleaning in one step. Disadvantage: A lot of programming required for the CNC-controlled machine, long throughput times, extensive handling required and only programmed areas are deburred.

+ Advantages

  • Even complicated workpieces can be machined
  • Targeted burr removal
  • Very well suited for large series
  • Deburring, chip removal and cleaning in one step

– Disadvantages

  • A lot of programming required for the CNC-controlled machine
  • Relatively long throughput times
  • Extensive handling required
  • Deburring only at programmed areas
  • Abrasive medium alters the surface structure

Mechanical deburring (or Robotic deburring):
Mechanical deburring includes any material removal or any chipping work that is performed via driven tools and whose goal is the removal of the burr at the component. This also includes all manual deburring operations. The material is removed with a blade, which can be geometrically defined (e.g. cutter, file) or not defined (e.g. grinding belt, brush).

While manual deburring workstations were used almost exclusively for this process in the past, nowadays robots increasingly perform the task of mechanical deburring. This is necessitated by the demands on the component listed below and a modern industrial production process:

  • A deburring result not dependent on the diligence and capacity of the employee
  • Process reliability
  • Reduction of production costs due to economisation
  • Employees are less exposed to dirt, noise, heavy weights, etc.
  • Increase of productivity
  • Less space required

Mechanical deburring via robots is suited for many different deburring tasks and can be integrated effortlessly in existing production lines as an automation solution. A direct connection to a machining centre for loading and unloading is standard practice.

There are two types of robot-supported deburring. In the first variant, a robot moves the component to the different machining tools. This process is well suited for components with small to medium weights and dimensions.

WMS Werkstückgeführte Entgratung
Robotic Deburring

Illustration: Workpiece guided deburring

The second variant is often used for heavy workpieces. The workpiece is fixed in a defined position and the robot guides the tools to the contours that are to be deburred.

 

WMS Werkzeuggeführte Entgratung
Robot Deburring

Illustration: Tool-guided deburring

In both cases, taking into account the cutting geometry, angle of attack, feed speed, length of stay and material properties, a defined phase for many contours can be created.

+ Advantages

  • Flexible machining
  • Different tools can be used
  • Can be expanded with preparatory and subsequent processes (fettling, polishing, …)
  • Removal of large burrs
  • Well suited for mass-produced parts
  • Suitable for different component dimensions and weights
  • All accessible contours that are to be deburred are included
  • Can be connected directly with the machining centre without additions

– Disadvantages

  • A lot of programming required
  • Partially large investment costs
  • Drilled holes leave behind root burrs
  • Due to accessibility issues, each contour cannot be machined unrestrictedly

 

The passion of WMS

We first got involved in the mechanical precision deburring of different components in 1986. Initially developed as part of SIG Schweiz for an in-house product, robot-based deburring applications were soon also supplied to customers outside of the company.

Read more Close

In 1994, an independent company was founded that took over the customers, technology and patents of SIG. Since that time, WMS-engineering Werkzeuge – Maschinen – Systeme GmbH has designed, built and programmed dependable and process reliable deburring applications in the field of robot-guided mechanical deburring.

Entgraten

Die nachfolgenden Definitionen dienen keinesfalls als Basis für eine wissenschaftliche Abhandlung. Wir nehmen uns auch nicht heraus zu behaupten, dass alle Facetten des Entgratens, des Grates und aller anderen, angesprochenen Punkte eingehend betrachtet und vollständig erfasst sind. Wir möchten unseren Kunden und Interessenten einen groben Überblick verschaffen, damit Sie verstehen, wofür wir Anlagen bauen.

Was ist entgraten?

Um diese Frage beantworten zu können, wollen wir zunächst klären, was gemeinhin unter dem Begriff „Grat“ zu verstehen ist.

Weiterlesen Schließen

Ein Grat ist eine Materialausformung, welche durch unterschiedliche Herstellungs- und / oder Bearbeitungsverfahren erzeugt werden kann. Sie ist fest mit dem eigentlichen Bauteil verbunden, ohne tatsächlich gemäß Bauteilzeichnung ein Teil davon zu sein.

Beim Gießen beispielsweise wird das überschüssige Material, welches zwischen den zwei Formhälften herausdrückt, als Teilungsgrat bezeichnet.

Ein Bearbeitungszentrum erzeugt beim Abtragen einer Oberfläche an der Auslaufkante des Werkzeugs einen sogenannten Auslaufgrat.

Auch beim Bohren, Stanzen oder Drehen können Grate entstehen.

Das Spektrum der Grate geht dabei von mikroskopisch klein bis zu mehreren Millimeter dick. Ihre Ausprägung hängt von unterschiedlichen Faktoren ab. Beim Gießprozess wird die Ausprägung zum Beispiel durch Alter und Material der Gießform beeinflusst, aber auch durch die Eigenschaften des Gießmaterials selbst.

Bei einer mechanischen Bearbeitung kann der Grat je nach Prozessparametern der Bearbeitung, Standzeit des Werkzeugs und Materialeigenschaften des Werkstücks stärker oder schwächer ausgebildet sein.

In der Regel scharfkantig sind Grate bei Folgeprozessen, wie beispielsweise nachfolgenden Fertigungsschritten, oder Montagen unerwünscht und müssen entfernt werden.

Der Prozess des „Entgratens“ beschreibt die Entfernung von Grat unter Zuhilfenahme unterschiedlicher Verfahren, welche grob in mechanische, chemische und thermische Entgratung unterteilt werden können. Dabei werden weder Ein- noch Ausgangsgrößen näher spezifiziert.

Jeder Nutzer von Entgrat-Applikationen muss hier selbst definieren, was erreicht werden soll. In der Regel werden hierzu Entgrat-Spezifikationen erstellt. Durch sie ist für den Innen- und Außenbereich von Werkstücken klar geregelt, welche Zielwerte mit entsprechenden Toleranzbereichen zulässig sind. Zudem werden auf Zeichnungen entsprechende Maßangaben gemacht.

Zur Bestimmung des richtigen Entgratprozesses um das gewünschte Ergebnis erzielen zu können, muss zunächst die Art des Grates bestimmt werden.

Grat ist nicht gleich grat

Weißt ein Bauteil einen Grat auf, der entfernt werden soll, muss zunächst die Art des Grates bestimmt werden. Dies erfolgt indem man sowohl die Materialeigenschaften des Werkstoffs, als auch den Entstehungsprozess des Grates betrachtet.

Weiterlesen Schließen

Grundvoraussetzungen für die Entstehung eines Grates sind:

  • Die Verwendung eines plastisch verformbaren Werkstoffs
  • Eine Krafteinwirkung auf den Werkstoff, meist in Form einer Zerspan- oder Vorschubkraft im Rahmen eines gratbildenden Fertigungsverfahrens

Gratbildende Fertigungsverfahren sind:

  • Urformen (Gießen, Pressen, Sintern)
  • Umformen (Walzen, Formen, Eindrücken)
  • Trennen (Drehen, Fräsen, Schneiden, Sägen, Räumen, …)
  • Fügen (Schweißen, Gießen, …)

Betrachtet man die unterschiedlichen Verfahren, kann man feststellen, dass durch sie verschiedene Gratformen ausgebildet werden. Diese Ausbildung beruht auf den verschiedenen Kräften, welche abhängig vom Fertigungsprozess auf das Bauteil wirken.

Betrachten wir die Gratbildung am Beispiel einer Bohrung näher. Beim Bohren entstehen 2 unterschiedliche Grate, zum einen im Bereich des Bohrungseintritts, zum anderen im Bereich des Bohrungsaustritts.

Der, beim Bohrungseintritt entstehende Grat beruht auf der Eingriffsart des Bohrers. Dieser wird zu Beginn der Bohrlocherzeugung in das Werkstück eingedrückt und verdrängt somit das Material an der Werkstückoberfläche.

Für Bohrungen werden sehr häufig Spiralbohrer eingesetzt, deren Schnittgeschwindigkeit in der Werkzeugmitte nahezu 0 ist. Der Bohrer schiebt folglich im Bereich der Bohrlochmitte das Material mehr vor sich her, als dass es aus dem Vollmaterial herausgeschnitten wird. Vor dem Bohrlochaustritt wird das überschüssige Material zunächst im Bauteilinneren am Bohrungsboden aufgewölbt. Durchbricht der Bohrer den Boden, wird das Restmaterial über die Kante gebogen und verbleibt als Grat am der Bohrlochaußenseite.

Neben der aufgebrachten Kraft durch den Fertigungsprozess hat auch der Werkstoff selbst Einfluss auf die Gratausbildung. Zum besseren Verständnis zunächst einige Definitionen unterschiedlicher Begrifflichkeiten:

Gitter / Kristall:
Betrachtet man einen metallischen Werkstoff auf Atom-Ebene, kann man feststellen, dass die Atome regelmäßig im Raum angeordnet sind. Zwischen diesen Atomen herrschen große Bindungskräfte. Man spricht bei diesem Atomverbund auch von Kristallen. Abhängig von der Packungsdichte und Anzahl der Atome innerhalb einer Elementarzelle spricht man von unterschiedlichen Gittertypen. Insgesamt gibt es 7 verschiedene Haupt-Gittertypen (siehe Tabelle 1), wobei die meisten Metalle kubisch oder hexagonal kristallisieren. Einige Metalle können zudem in unterschiedlichen Temperaturbereichen verschiedene Gittertypen ausbilden.

GittertypGestalt der Elementarzelle (Beispielhaft)
TriklinAllseitig schiefer Ziegelstein
MonoklinIn einer Richtung schiefer Ziegelstein
OrthorhombischNormaler Ziegelstein
TetragonalIn einer Richtung gestreckter Würfel
RhomboedrischAllseitig schiefer Würfel
HexagonalEin Stück Sechskantmaterial gerade geschnitten
KubischWürfel

Elementarzelle:
Der Begriff der Elementarzelle beschreibt die kleinste Volumeneinheit eines Raumgitters in dem alle Symmetriemerkmal eines Kristallsystems vertreten sind. Durch periodische Verschiebung der Kanten kann die Entstehung eines Raumgitters simuliert werden.

Mit den vorgenannten Definitionen wird ein Idealkristall beschrieben. Der Realkristall berücksichtig neben der Tatsache, dass Atome in der Wirklichkeit keine Kugelgestalt haben und sich nicht in Ruhelage befinden auch:

  • Die endliche Begrenzung (gemeint ist die Oberfläche des Metalls)
  • Die Existenz gestörter Bereiche (Leerstellen, Fremdatome, Versetzungen)

Versetzungen:
Versetzungen sind Liniendefekte, welche in großer Dichte im Gitter vorkommen. Sie beeinflussen die Werkstoffeigenschaften in hohem Maß und zeichnen sich durch folgende Eigenschaften aus:

  • Sie haben einen Richtungssinn, das heißt, sie ziehen sich an, oder stoßen sich ab.
  • Sie können sich bewegen, das heißt, sie bewirken eine Deformation des Materials durch massenhaftes Wandern innerhalb des Gitters
  • Sie bilden die Ursache für Eigenspannungen und Verfestigungen

Plastisch Verformung:
Bei einer plastischen Verformung spricht man auch von einem „fließen“ des Werkstoffs. Durch eine von außen aufgebrachte Kraft definierter Größe wird die Grenzspannung im Werkstoff überschritten, wodurch es zu einem Wandern der Versetzungen und somit zu einer Umformung des betreffenden Werkstoffs kommt. Entsprechend der Gittergeometrie erfolgt dies in bevorzugten Ebenen und Richtungen.

Die physikalischen und technischen Eigenschaften eines Werkstoffs werden folglich sowohl vom Grundgitter des Kristalls, als auch von der Art, Anzahl und Anordnung von Gitterfehlern und gitterfremden Bausteinen bestimmt.

Für jeden das Richtige

So, wie es unterschiedliche Arten von Grat gibt, können zur Entfernung des Selben auch unterschiedlichste Verfahren zum Einsatz kommen. Nachfolgend werden die Gängigsten von ihnen kurz erläutert. Wir erheben keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit und bitten deshalb zu entschuldigen, sollte das ein, oder andere Verfahren unerwähnt bleiben.

Weiterlesen Schließen

Gleitschleifen / Trowalisieren:
Das Gleitschleifen ist eines der gängigsten Entgratverfahren. Die Methode haben sich die Menschen, wie so vieles andere auch, von der Natur abgeschaut, wo Sand und Wasser grobe Felsen zu glatten Kieselsteinen schleifen.

Die richtige Kombination aus Maschine, Schleifkörper, Compound und Wasser ermöglicht in der modernen Fertigungstechnik die Bearbeitung fast jeder Oberfläche. Die Werkstücke werden dabei als Schüttgut zusammen mit dem Schleifmedium in einen Behälter gegeben. Durch rotieren und oszillieren des Behälters wird eine Relativbewegung zwischen Werkstück und Schleifmedium erzeugt, welche zum Materialabtrag führt.

Je nach Anforderung können Werkstücke auf diese Art entgratet, poliert, gleitgeschliffen, entzundert, gereinigt, geglättet oder die Kanten verrundet werden.

+ Vorteile

  • Bauteile können als Schüttgut angeliefert werden
  • Geringerer Platzbedarf als andere Verfahren
  • Keine Vorrichtungen erforderlich
  • Hohe Ausbringungsmenge
  • Kantenverrundung

– Nachteile

  • Komplexe Bauteil-Geometrien oder Vertiefungen können nicht vollständig bearbeitet werden
  • Grate können in die Bohrungen geboten werden
  • Nicht für schlagempfindliche oder hochpolierte Bauteile geeignet.
  • Kein definierter Materialabtrag möglich
  • Ist nicht zur Verkettung in einer Fertigungslinie für Stückgut geeignet
  • Ist nicht für große Bauteile geeignet

Elektrochemisches Entgraten:
Mit dem Verfahren der „elektrochemischen Metallbearbeitung“ kurz ECM lassen sich alle leitenden Materialen berührungsfrei, ohne thermische, chemische, oder mechanische Einflüsse entgraten. Dabei wird das Werkstück als Anode (positiv) gepolt, das Werkzeug ist die Kathode. Eine elektrisch leitende Flüssigkeit (Elektrolylösung) schließt den Stromkreis.

Vereinfacht erklärt funktioniert eine ECM-Entgratung wie folgt:
Das Werkstück wird in einer Vorrichtung gespannt und mittels Generator positiv geladen. Die Werkzeugelektrode / Katode wird nun im Abstand von 0,5 – 2mm an der zu entgratenden Stelle an das Werkstück herangeführt. Zwischen Werkstück und Werkzeug entsteht ein sogenannter Wirk- oder Arbeitsspalt. Durch ihn wird die Elektrolyt-Lösung geleitet. Wird nun an Werkstück und Elektrode ein Gleichspannung angelegt, fließt ein elektrischer Strom über den Arbeitsspalt und bewirkt einen Ladungsaustausch, bzw. einen Auflösungsprozess. Die Intensität der Entgratwirkung kann bei diesem Verfahren folglich über die Bearbeitungsspannung, sowie die Zeit gesteuert werden.

+ Vorteile

  • Gezielte Formentgratung ausgewählter Stellen möglich
  • Mechanische Eigenschaften haben keinen Einfluss auf Bearbeitbarkeit
  • Arbeitet berührungslos
  • Werkzeug ist verfahrenstechnisch Verschleißfrei
  • Das Bauteil unterliegt keiner Wärmebeanspruchung
  • Kein Sekundärgrat
  • Z.T. kurze Entgratzeiten

– Nachteile

  • Bauteil muss metallisch sein
  • Herkömmliche Materialien und Konstruktionsprinzipien können nicht verwendet werden
  • Bauteile müssen Späne- und Fettfrei sein
  • Nach der ECM-Entgratung müssen die Bauteile in Klarwasser gereinigt werden
  • Bauteile müssen u.U. konserviert werden
  • Abhängig von der Bauteilgeometrie können zusätzliche Konturen nicht ohne Weiteres implementiert werden

Thermisches Entgraten:
Das thermische Entgraten, oder korrekt thermisch-chemisches Entgraten gehört zu den ungezielt wirkenden Bearbeitungsverfahren. Einzig der Abtrag des Grates ist gewährleistet. Entgratet werden können nahezu alle oxidierenden Werkstoffe.

Beim thermischen Entgraten befindet sich das Werkstück in einer Entgratkammer. Diese wird mit einem Sauerstoff-Brenngasgemisch gefüllt und durch einen Zündfunken, bzw. eine Glühstrecke gezündet. Dabei werden je nach Gemisch und Gasmenge bis zu 3.000°C erreicht. Das Werkstück selbst erwärmt sich hingegen nur unwesentlich (ca. 100 – 190°C, abhängig von dessen Wärmekapazität).

Durch den abrupten Temperaturanstieg werden all die Werkstückbereiche überhitzt, deren Oberflächen im Verhältnis zu Ihrem Volumen sehr groß ist. In der Regel sind dies Grate, die auf Grund des entstehenden Wärmestaus bei diesem Vorgang zunächst angezündet und dann verbrannt werden.

+ Vorteile

  • Entfernung von Grat an unzugänglichen Stellen
  • Absolute Gratfreiheit
  • Universelles Verfahren ohne Werkstückbindung
  • Sehr geringe Taktzeit

– Nachteile

  • Keine definierte Kantenverrundung
  • Nur für oxidierende Werkstoffe
  • Nicht für gehärtete Bauteile geeignet
  • Werkstücke mit einem größeren Volumen können nur bedingt entgratet werden
  • Müssen frei von losen Spänen und Fetten sein
  • Evtl. Tauchen in ein stark verdünntes Säuregemisch als Nachbehandlung erforderlich

Hochdruckwasserstrahlentgraten:
Beim Hochdruckwasserstrahlentgraten wird der Grat an seiner dünnsten zur Verfügung stehenden Stelle abgebrochen. Häufig wird dem Wasser ein abrasives Medium beigefügt um die Abtragswirkung zu verbessern. Besonders gut geeignet ist dieses Entgratverfahren für Werkstücke aus Leichtmetall. Eine Lanze leitet den Wasserstrahl zu der zu entgratenden Stelle. Hier wird er über Düsen auf das Werkstück aufgebracht. Das Wasser hat in der Regel zwischen 600 und 1.000 bar Vorteil: gezieltes Entfernen der Grate, für große Serien geeignet, Entgraten, Entspanen und Reinigen in einem Arbeitsgang Nachteil: Großer Programmieraufwand der CNC-gesteuerten Maschine, lange Durchlaufzeiten, großer Handling-Aufwand, nur programmierte Stellen werden entgratet.

+ Vorteile

  • Auch komplizierte Werkstücke können bearbeitet werden
  • Gezielte Grat-Entfernung
  • Für Großserien sehr gut geeignet
  • Entgraten, Entspanen und Reinigen in einem Arbeitsgang

– Nachteile

  • Großer Programmieraufwand der CNC-gesteuerten Maschine
  • Durchlaufzeiten relativ lang
  • Hoher Handlingaufwand
  • Entgraten nur an programmierten Stellen
  • Durch abrasives Medium Veränderung der Oberflächenstruktur

Mechanisches Entgraten (mittels Roboter):
Zum mechanischen Entgraten wird jeder Materialabtrag bzw. jede Zerspanarbeit gezählt, welcher mittels angetriebenen Werkzeugen erfolgt und die Entfernung des Grates am Bauteil zum Ziel hat. Hierzu zählen ebenfalls alle Handentgratoperationen. Der Materialabtrag erfolgt mittels einer Schneide, welche geometrisch bestimmt (z. B. Fräser, Feiler) oder unbestimmt (z. B. Schleifband, Bürste) sein kann.

Früher fast ausschließlich über Handentgratarbeitsplätze gelöst, übernehmen heute immer häufiger Roboter die Aufgabe der mechanischen Entgratung. Dies bedingen vor allem nachfolgend aufgeführte Anforderungen an Bauteil und Fertigungsprozess einer modernen Industrie:

  • Von Sorgfalt und Leistungsvermögen des Mitarbeiters unabhängiges Entgratergebnis
  • Prozesssicherheit
  • Senkung der Produktionskosten durch Rationalisierung
  • Belastungen des Werkers durch Schmutz, Geräusche, schwere Gewichte, etc. reduzieren
  • Erhöhung der Produktivität
  • Verringerung des Platzbedarfs

Die mechanische Entgratung mittels Roboter eignet sich für eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Entgrataufgaben und kann als Automatisierungslösung gut in bestehende Fertigungslinien integriert werden. Auch die direkte Anbindung an ein Bearbeitungszentrum zur zusätzlichen Be- und Entladung ist gängige Praxis.

Zur robotergestützten Entgratung gibt es zwei unterschiedliche Varianten. Bei Variante 1 wird das Bauteil mittels Roboter an die unterschiedlichen Bearbeitungswerkzeuge herangeführt. Dieses Verfahren eignet sich für kleine bis mittlere Bauteilgewichte und -dimensionen.

WMS Werkstückgeführte Entgratung

Abbildung: Werkstückgeführte Entgratung

Variante 2 wird häufig bei großen Werkstückgewichten eingesetzt. Dabei wird das Werkstück an einer definierten Position fixiert und der Roboter führt die Werkzeuge an die zu entgratenden Konturen.

 

WMS Werkzeuggeführte Entgratung

Abbildung: Werkzeuggeführte Entgratung

In beiden Fällen kann unter Berücksichtigung von Schneidengeometrie, Anstellwinkel, Vorschubgeschwindigkeit, Verweildauer und Materialeigenschaften für eine Vielzahl von Konturen eine definierte Phase erzeugt werden.

+ Vorteile

  • Flexible Bearbeitung
  • Unterschiedliche Werkzeuge einsetzbar
  • Erweiterbar um vorbereitende oder nachfolgende Prozesse (Gussputzen, Polieren, …)
  • Entfernen starker Grataufwürfe
  • Gut geeignet für Großserienteile
  • Kann für unterschiedliche Bauteildimensionen und -gewichte genutzt werden
  • Alle erreichbaren, zu entgratenden Konturen werden erfasst
  • Kann ohne Zusätze direkt mit BAZ verbunden werden

– Nachteile

  • Großer Programmieraufwand
  • Z.T. hohe Investitionskosten
  • In Bohrungsverschneidungen bleibt ein Wurzelgrat zurück
  • Auf Grund der Zugänglichkeit kann nicht jede Kontur uneingeschränkt bearbeitet werden

 

Das Steckenpferd der WMS

Seit 1986 beschäftigt man sich mit der mechanischen Präzisionsentgratung unterschiedlicher Bauteile. Zunächst als Teil der SIG Schweiz für ein eigenes Produkt entwickelt, lieferte man roboterbasierte Entgratanwendungen schon bald auch an Kunden außerhalb des Konzerns.

Weiterlesen Schließen

1994 gründete man ein eigenes Unternehmen und übernahm Kunden, Technologie und Patente der SIG. Seit dieser Zeit konstruiert, baut und programmiert die WMS-engineering Werkzeuge – Maschinen – Systeme GmbH zuverlässige, prozesssichere Entgratapplikationen im Bereich der robotergeführten, mechanischen Entgratung.


Zurück zur Übersicht

Verfahren