Process engineering

The principle layout forms the basis. Surface and machining plans, the cycle time analysis and the selection of the correct tools complete the process.

Principle layout

The principle layout forms the basis for any project. It consists of defined placeholders. On the one hand, their graphic arrangement is supposed to provide customers with an overview. On the other hand, they are linked via parameters that allow us to capture dependencies and to illustrate them. The steel tube body of the cell frame forms the frame of each principle layout. Due to the modularisation strategy of WMS, this ensures the economic benefit of a modular system. On the other hand, it is possible to individually respond to a customer’s workpiece by choosing from different sizes and application parameters. We have refined this combination for more than 20 years, which is why it is ready for the overwhelming majority of customer applications. Different pieces can be selected from the modular system tool kit and placed within the defined tubular frame construction. We always rely on our established suppliers which have been our safe and dependable partners since our founding.

WMS Prozessengineering Prinziplayout Bild

SURFACE AND MACHINING PLANS

Among the first data we need for the successful projection of the deburring application are the detailed component drawings as well as the STEP files. Without them, one of our deburring applications can only be performed with much greater effort. One of our process specialists imports the STEP files to the CAD program and, using an extensive cutting process, the contours that are to be deburred are mapped. Once the customer has approved this list, our process specialists go to work once again. A complete list of all required tools and a cycle time calculation are a basic part of our process engineering. In a follow-up step, optional deburring trials can be initiated that ensure process capability.

CYCLE TIME ANALYSIS

To a large degree, each production process is determined by its cycle time. That’s why downstream secondary processes that follow the machine production should not negatively influence cycle times. Unfortunately, the deburring process is too often not included in the production flow. That means that, right before the supposed completion, another significant effort has to be expended in order to achieve the required quality of the machined edges and contours that was defined in the production drawings. In many cases, this leads to corrections to the production specifications.

TIP: When planning your production, don’t forget the deburring process. Otherwise you could fall into a costly trap if otherwise unachievable qualities are demanded.

THE RIGHT TOOL

At WMS, you have the option of choosing from countless tools with different materials, shapes and coatings. Our employees know all of their advantages and disadvantages. That’s why we are taking a lot of time in this initial phase in order to discuss and coordinate these variables with our customers. We know that our customers obviously have made their own experiences and have their own favourites when it comes to selecting tools. We will gladly accommodate your wishes and provide advice that is founded on many years of experience.

 

Process

Tools

Prozessengineering

Das Prinziplayout bildet die Basis. Die Flächen- und Bearbeitungspläne, die Taktzeitanalyse und die Auswahl der korrekten Werkzeuge vervollständigen den Prozess.

Prinziplayout

Die Grundlage jeder Projektierung bildet zu Beginn das Prinziplayout. Dies besteht aus definierten Platzhaltern, die einerseits durch eine grafische Anordnung dem Kunden einen Überblick geben sollen. Andererseits sind diese durch Paramter verknüpft, die uns bei der Projektierung helfen, Abhängigkeiten zu erfassen und diese Abzubilden. Den Rahmen jeden Prinziplayouts bildet der Stahlrohrkörper des Zellengerüsts. Aufgrund der Modularisierungsstrategie bei WMS stellt dies den ökonomischen Vorteil eines Baukastensystems sicher. Andererseits kann durch Auswahl aus verschiedenen Baugrößen und Applikationsparametern auf das Kundenwerkstück eingegangen werden. Dem Mix haben wir nunmehr über 20 Jahre Reifezeit gegeben, weswegen dieser auf die allermeisten Kundenapplikationen bestens voreingestellt ist. Aus einem modular aufgebauten Systembaukasten können verschiedene Bausteine herausgepickt und innerhalb der definierten Rohrrahmenkonstruktion platziert werden. Dabei verlassen wir uns stets auf unsere etablierten Lieferanten, die uns teils seit der Gründung sicher und verlässlich zur Seite stehen.

WMS Prozessengineering Prinziplayout Bild

FLÄCHEN- UND BEARBEITUNGSPLÄNE

Zu den ersten Daten, die wir vom Kunden für die erfolgreiche Projektierung der Entgratanwendung benötigen, gehören die Bauteildetailzeichnungen, sowie STEP-Dateien. Ohne diese ist eine Entgratanwendung aus unserem Haus nur mit erhöhtem Aufwand durchführbar. Die STEP-Dateien werden von unseren Prozessspezialisten in das CAD-Programm importiert und es werden in einem aufwendigen Schnittverfahren die zu entgratenden Konturen abgebildet. Nachdem der Kunde diese Aufstellung freigegeben hat, kommen unsere Prozessspezialisten nochmals zum Zuge. Eine Gesamtaufstellung aller benötigten Werkzeuge, sowie eine Taktzeitberechnung sind Grundbestandteil des Prozessengineerings. Im Nachgang können daraus optional Entgratversuche ausgelöst werden, die eine Prozessfähigkeit sicherstellen.

TAKTZEITANALYSE

Jeder Fertigungsprozess wird maßgeblich durch die Taktzeit bestimmt. Auch die der Maschinenfertigung nachgelagerten sekundären Prozesse, dürfen die Taktzeit nicht negativ beeinflussen. Leider wird allzuoft die Entgratung nicht in den Fertigungsfluss miteinbezogen und so entstehen gerade kurz vor der vermeindlichen Fertigstellung nochmals betrachtliche Aufwände, um die erforderlichen Qualitäten der bearbeiteten Kanten und Konturen zu erreichen, die in der Fertigungszeichnung verlangt werden. Nicht selten führt dies zu Korrekturen in den Fertigungsvorgaben.

TIPP: Vergessen Sie bei der Fertigungsplanung nicht die Entgratung. Hier können Kostenfallen lauern, wenn unerreichbare Qualitäten gefordert werden.

DAS RICHTIGE WERKZEUG

Bei WMS haben wir die Möglichkeit, aus unzähligen Werkzeugen, mit unterschiedlichen Werkstoffen, Formen und Beschichtungen, auszuwählen. Unsere Mitarbeiter kennen die Vor- und Nachteile genau. Deshalb nehmen wir uns gerade in der Anfangsphase sehr viel Zeit, um diese Variablen mit unseren Kunden zu besprechen und abzustimmen. Wir wissen, dass unsere Kunden natürlich bereits eigene Erfahrung und Favoriten in der Werkzeugauswahl haben. Gerne gehen wir auf Wünsche ein und beraten mit unserer jahrelangen Erfahrung.

 

Verfahren

Werkzeuge